Philippines


Southeast Asia

Destinations

Donsol


Snorkeling with whale shark of Donsol, Philippines. Scuba diving holidays in resort.

Ticao Island


Scuba diving with whale shark, manta rays, and shars in Ticao Island, Masbate province, Philippines. Scuba diving holidays in resort.

Visayas


Visayas is one of 3 main zones of the archipelago of the Philippines and are characterized by a set of tropical beaches and offer famous dive site sites

Coron


Coron is located north of Palawan, in Visayas. Well known for the beauty of its white sandy beaches and great dives on WWII wrecks.

Apo Reef


Apo Reef is a marine reserve and the second worldwide coral Reef. Here you find amazing dive around Apo Island, Apo Menor and Cayos del Bajo.

Tubbataha Reef


Tubbataha Reef is a marine reserve reachable only by diving safari between march and june. Composed of two atolls, it's full of marine life

Philippines

The Republic of the Filipinas is located in the Pacific Ocean, constituted by 7 107 islands, a little more than 2 000 only are inhabited, while approximately 2 400 islands did not even receive a name. It is lined in the East by the sea of the Philippine, by the West by the China sea and in the South by the sea of Celebes

Luçon is the biggest island, it shelters the capital city, Manilla, as well as the Cordellera Central, mountains that we recommend you to visit, if you add to your trip some inland visits.

At the center of Phillipines, the Visayas count islands of Negros, Cebu, Bohol, Panay, Masbate, Samar and Leyte. It’s the most interesant archipelago for diving, with thefamous worlwide dive sites Moalboal, Pescador Island, Malapascua, Apo Island, Panglao Isand.

In the South, Mindanao is the second biggest island from its superficy. Its main towns are Davao & Zamboanga. On southwestern of Mindanao are Sulu Islands, close to Borneo.

Then, in the western part of Visayas, stretches the Palawan Archipelago which counts more than 1700 islands, amongst them Tubbataha and Apo Reef.

Spain and United States, which both colonized the country, had a big influence on the Philippine culture which is an unique mixture of East and West . The most important ethnic groups are Tagalogs (or Filipino), Visayas (or Cebuano). These populations are mixed, during their long history, with Indians, Chinese, Spaniards and Americans.

Most of these islands, mainly volcanics, are covered by cloud forests, Almost twenty volcanos are in activity. The archipelago is subject to typhoons, particularly between May and October.

The relief of these islands is characterized on one hand by mountain ranges in the narrow and little numerous plains and on the other hand by trenches amongst the deepest of the world, with more than 11 000 meters deep east of Mindanao. All the islands possess beaches, but these last ones are mostly narrow. Most of the islands were covered with rain forest, but the deforestation reduced considerely its surface.

The wet rain forests and the coast of the islands make the happiness of birds, plants, animals and the marine creatures. It is one of richest ten countries in terrms of biodiversity. Approximately 1,100 species of vertebrates can be found including more than 100 species of mammals and 170 species of birds. The wet rain forests abound in floral species, including rare types of orchids and rafflesia.

The Philippines waters cover 2.2 millions spm , offering an unique marine life, so diverse, and its an important part of Coral Triangle. One find 2,400 species of fishes and more than 500 species of corals. Apo Reef is the largest coral reef of the country and the second one at mondial scale.

Although the fishermen practised for a long time the dynamite or cyanide fishing, the tourist development stopped these destructive activities, replaced by the Eco tourism in full development.

Philippines


Asie du Sud-Est

Destinations

Donsol


Nager au milieu des requins baleine de Donsol, aux Philippines. Vacances plongée en formule resort

Ticao


Plongées au milieu des raies manta à Ticao Island, et PMT avec les requins baleine de Donsol, aux Philippines. Vacances plongée en formule resort

Visayas


Les Visayas est une des 3 zones principales de l'archipel des Philippines caractérisées par des plages tropicales au sable blanc et de celebres sites de plongée

Coron


Coron est situé au nord de Palawan. Connue pour ses plages de sable blanc, Coron est surtout renommée pour ses plongées sur épaves de la seconde guerre mondiale

Apo Reef


Apo Reef est une réserve marine et la seconde formation corallienne mondiale, où sont regroupés l'île d'Apo, Apo Menor, et Cayos del Bajo

Tubbataha Reef


Tubbataha Reef est une réserve marine, composée de 2 atolls,offrant un récif corallien riche en faune marine, accessible uniquement en croisière entre mars et juin

Philippines

La République des Philippines est un pays constitué d’un archipel, situé dans l’océan Pacifique, de 7 107 îles dont onze d’entre elles totalisent plus de 90 % des terres et un peu plus de 2 000 seulement sont habitées, alors qu’environ 2 400 îles n’ont même pas reçu de nom. Il est bordé à l’est par la mer des Philippines, à l’ouest par la mer de Chine et au sud par la mer des Célèbes.

On distingue trois zones géographiques : Luçon, les Visayas et Mindanao.

Luçon est l’île la plus vaste et la plus septentrionale, qui abrite sa capitale, Manille, et la plus grande ville du pays, Quezon City.

Au centre, le groupe dense des Visayas comprend les îles de Negros, Cebu, Bohol, Panay,Masbate, Samar et Leyte.

Au sud, Mindanao est la deuxième île par sa superficie ; ses principales ville sont Davao, Marawi, Zamboanga, et Cagayan de Oro. Au sud-ouest de Mindanao se trouvent les îles de Sulu, telles que Basilan, Jolo et Tawi Tawi, proches de Bornéo.

Enfin, à l’ouest des Visayas, s’étend l’archipel de Palawan qui compte à lui seul plus de 1700 îles.

L’Espagne et les Etats Unis, qui ont tous deux colonisés le pays, ont eu une grosse influence sur la culture philippine qui est un mélange unique d’Orient et d’Occident.

Les ethnies philippines sont très nombreuses, les groupes les plus importants sont les Tagalogs (ou Filipino), les Visayas (ou Cebuano), les Ilocano (ou Iloco), les Ilongo (ou Hiligaynon), les Bicol, les Waray-Waray, les Métis(ou Mestizo), les Bilocano (Albay), les Pangasinan, les Maranao, les Magindanaw , les Tausug et les Chinois Han-Min. Ces populations se sont métissés au cours de leur longue histoire avec des Indiens, des Chinois, des Arabes, des Espagnols et des Américains. L’anglais est l’une des deux langues officielles des Philippines, avec le filipino. Quant à l’espagnol, qui a été la langue officielle du pays pendant trois siècles, il n’est parlé que par une minorité sans cesse décroissante d’habitants.

La plupart des îles montagneuses sont recouvertes de forêts tropicales d’origine volcanique comme l’attestent les tremblements de terre fréquents et la vingtaine de volcans en activité comme le Pinatubo. L’archipel est aussi soumis aux typhons, plus particulièrement entre Mai et Octobre.

Le point le plus culminant est le mont Apo sur l’île de Mindanao. Le relief de ces îles se caractérise d’une part par des chaînes montagneuses aux plaines étroites et peu nombreuses et d’autre part par la proximité de fosses marines parmi les plus profondes du monde, avec plus de 11 000 mètres à l’est de Mindanao. Toutes les îles possèdent des plages, mais ces dernières sont le plus souvent étroites. La plupart des îles étaient couvertes de forêt tropicale, mais la déforestation a réduit considérément sa surface.

Les forêts tropicales humides et les côtes des îles des Philippines font le bonheur d’une gamme diverse d’oiseaux, de plantes, d’animaux et des créatures marines. C’est un des dix pays le plus divers biologiquement, et au top ten en termes de biodiversité par secteur d’unité. Environ 1,100 espèces de vertébrés peuvent être trouvés incluant plus de 100 espèces de mammifères et 170 espèces d’oiseaux. On dénombre 13,500 espèces de plantes dans le pays, dont 3,200 sont uniques aux îles. Les forêts tropicales humides regorgent d’espèces florales, y compris des types rares d’orchidées et rafflesia.

Les eaux philippines englobent 2.2 millions de kilomètres carrés, offrant une faune marine unique et diverse, c’est l’une des parties importantes du Triangle de Corail. On y trouve 2,400 espèces de poissons et plus de 500 espèces de corail. Le Récif Apo est le plus grand récif de corail du pays et le deuxième en taille mondiale.